Whoops…

Hi, hello, I promise I am indeed still here!

I accidentally went on a hiatus without really meaning to for a few months? It was one of those oh-I’m-not-really-reading-much-for-reviews and then work+more work+life took over, but ta-daaaa, I’m back!

Now, I may not have been actively reviewing books on here, I have actually been reading books! Or, well, listening…

I finally discovered that I truly do love audiobooks! I know I’ve written a little about audio before, but since I spend a lot of time on the road now, I’ve started listening more and more to books instead of my usual podcasts. (Like, there were a lot of audiobooks. I’ve already completed my Goodreads goal of 30 books…)

My weird personal goal that I set for myself this year was to power through basically all of The Mortal Instruments books, in additional to all of the side series. And Reader, I have!

  1. City of Bones
    1. I had originally read this when I was in undergrad, but gotta start from the very beginning, ya know? It was still just as incesty and uncomfortable as I remembered, but as it’s the beginning of everything, I still gave it three stars
  2. City of Ashes
    1. This one was a little more enjoyable, and I read this during undergrad as well. But still some incesty vibes…four stars.
  3. City of Glass
    1. Ah yes, the real Jonathan Morgenstern rolls up. This time, for reals incesty vibes, but I loved finally getting more about Alacante and Idris. Three stars
  4. City of Fallen Angels
    1. So we’re finally done with incest (well, for now), but good lord, give me a book of just Downworlders! My sweet baby Simon (who ended up in the weirdest situation ever) is so great in this. Four stars
  5. City of Lost Souls
    1. This one was just…very weird to me as far as Jace and Clary go (ugh, I honestly could not stand them in the entire series, but alas, they come with the territory). It’s so grim, and Sebastian is the worst but you also feel for him since his dad was the actual worst???? Four stars on Goodreads, but honestly this was a 4.5.
  6. City of Heavenly Fire
    1. The end. Oh man. This was seriously my favorite of the batch? Magnus? Callbacks to The Infernal Devices? SIMON?!?!?! Five stars, and they were well earned (this book made me cry, that’s not okay).

And, since I’m now totally sucked into this world…

  1. Clockwork Angel
    1. Steampunky historical fiction, a main character I don’t hate, and the best found-family ever? Sold. Four stars.
  2. Clockwork Prince
    1. I hate love triangles, always have, always will. Except for this one. This is 100% one of those cases where I need a poly relationship. Will and Jem are actual gems, and Tessa is so smart and strong. Everything about this was great. 5 stars.
  3. Clockwork Princess
    1. Sweet lord. I’ll (hopefully) have finished listening to this one by the time this post goes up, but Cassandra is so rude for hurting me like this. It’s the end of these sweet beans’ stories (kind of), but oh, I adore it. Predicted five stars.

And moving forward…

  1. Lady Midnight
    1. WE FINALLY HAVE AN ACTUAL, HONEST-TO-GOD, “I AM BISEXUAL” BISEXUAL! (I always thought of Magnus as more pansexual, since I’m guessing he’s had a few dalliances with beings outside of Shadowhunters, vampires, and werewolves…) I didn’t enjoy the main two leads (again, I don’t know what’s wrong with me), but we’ve got an autistic Shadowhunter too, so, that makes it a bit better. Four stars.

I listened to a few more audiobooks as well (IT, Illuminae, Children of Blood and Bone, and Our Dark Duet), but I’ll get around to writing real reviews of those later.

But yes, I’m back! I’ve missed this and you.

 

Tell me somethin!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.