Top 5 Tuesday: Books I Almost DNFed But Ended Up Loving

Sometimes you’ll think a book just isn’t for you, and then it takes a hard left and it’s everything you’ve ever wanted. This week’s meme celebrates just that! This meme comes from Bionic Book Worm, who’s been doing some really cool stuff lately, so be sure to check her out!

5) Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

When I first read this, I thought it was just okay, and didn’t quite get the hype. Then I read Six of Crows, fell in love, and appreciate the entire Grishaverse so so much!

4) A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Sweet, small child me. I loved her writing style, but almost didn’t care much for the story. Then my murderous children entered, and I was sold!

3) Graceling by Kristin Cashore

This was initially a book I had to read for grad school, and I actually set it down before I could even finish the first chapter. I tried again, and absolutely loved it. There’s a reason Katsa acts the way she does!

2) Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys

hated Jane Eyre, so I was obviously expecting to hate this. And then halfeay though, something changed, and now it’s one of my favorite books.

  1. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Again, I actually did put this one down when I first read it. Then gave it another go, and again, murder babies saved the day.

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday: Books I Almost DNFed But Ended Up Loving

  1. I’m so glad that I wasn’t the only one who almost gave up on Nevernight! I tried a few times but those first few chapters were a serious struggle. Now it’s one of my favourites!
    Thanks for participating – added you to the list 🙂

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed Graceling cos I ended up actually DNF-ing! I also did a post – feel free to check it out 🙂

      1. I read halfway through and stopped once Katsa and Po’s relationship got physical so I think I went pretty far and I don’t think I’d enjoy it but I’m glad you did!

  3. I can so agree with you about 1, 4, 5 though I haven’t hit the appeal yet on ADSOM unfortunately. I didn’t see them very murderous I guess in the first book. >.< It so annoys me I just don't get the allure. Great list!

Tell me somethin!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.